Ysgol Bro Cynllaith

Newsletter 9th February 2018

9/02/18

Newyddion Ysgol Bro Cynllaith News

 

 

Swimming

We will not be swimming on 19th February, which is the first Monday back after half term. This is because Shropshire schools have a different half term to Powys and the pool is not available.

 

Dragon Sports

Mrs Evans will be starting after school sports club after half term, (3.15-4.15pm). The first date will be on the 21st February, then every Wednesday thereafter.

 

Urdd 5-a-side football competition

Some pupils went to Llanfair Caereinon on Thursday 1st February to compete in the Urdd Football Competition. They played very well. Thankyou to Mrs Evans Mrs Sissons for transporting them.

 

Dragon Sports netball

Some pupils attended the netball competition, which was held at Llanfyllin High School on Thursday 8th February. They played extremely well and narrowly missed going through to the finals. Well done/Da iawn chi. Thankyou to Mrs Evans and Mrs Sissons for transporting them.

 

Impact Schools

Darren Mayor came in to conduct one of his popular assemblies on Friday 2nd February. The theme this time was ‘Greed’.

 

Parent Pay – cashless system

Letters are being sent out today with information about the parent pay, cashless system. If you require any assistance with getting set up then please contact us at the school. Our ‘Go live’ date is Thursday 1st March. This is the date that we will no longer be accepting dinner money at school.

 

Indoor Athletics

Year 5 & 6 pupils are going to Llanfyllin High School on Friday 23rd February. They will need a packed lunch and we will require one car to help with transport. If you can help on this date then please let us know.

 

Fairtrade afternoon

On Wednesday 28th February at 2pm, we will be holding a Fairtrade afternoon. Parents are invited to come along and see pupils’ presentations and find what they have been learning about.

 

St David’s Day lunch menu

During the Week 1, commencing 26th February there will be a change to the menu.

Tuesday 27th Feb, Sliced Turkey, stuffing, potatoes and a choice of 2 vegetables & gravy – followed by Fruit crumble and custard.

Thursday 1st Mar – Pork and leek sausages, Yorkshire pudding, potatoes and a choice of 2 vegetables & gravy, followed by a Welsh cake with milk.

 

School Eisteddfod

On Thursday 1st March, the pupils will be performing in an Eisteddfod. Parents are welcome to come and watch the children perform some popular Welsh songs.

 

FOR YOUR DIARY:

Fri 9th Feb – Break up for half term

Mon 19th Feb – Back to school – NO SWIMMING

Fri 23rd Feb – Indoor Athletics at Llanfyllin High School (Years 5 & 6)

Own clothes day - £1

Wed 28th Feb – Fairtrade afternoon 2pm

Thu 1st Mar – School Eisteddfod 2pm

Thu 8th Mar – Dragon Sports Cross Country at Llanfyllin High School – after school

Wed 14th Mar – Swimming gala at the Flash

Thu 15th Mar – Dragon Sports Cross Country at Llanfair Caereinion High School – after school

Fri 23rd Mar – Break up for Easter Own clothes day - £1