Ysgol Bro Cynllaith

Newsletter 9th March 2018

 

9/03/18

Newyddion Ysgol Bro Cynllaith News

 

Indoor Athletics

Pupils in Years 5 & 6 attended the Indoor Athletics event at Llanfyllin High School on Friday 23rd February. The all had a great time, competing in over ten events. Thankyou to Mrs Evans and Mrs Sarah Evans for transporting them.

 

Fairtrade afternoon

A big thankyou to Mrs Eyres and the school council for an excellent afternoon showcasing everything Fairtrade. There were presentations, competitions, various activities and a raffle. This great prize consisted of a delicious box of Fairtrade Products, which was won by Jack Thompson (Year 4).

Thankyou also to the parents who came along to support. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

 

Snow!

Unfortunately we had to close the school for 2 days at the end of last week due to the extreme weather. Thankyou to Mrs Wendy Jones for maintaining the paths around the school and generally ‘keeping an eye’ and Mr Huw Evans for clearing the car park once again. Let’s hope that is the last of it!

 

School Eisteddfod

This has now been rescheduled for Wednesday 21st March at 2pm. Family and friends are all invited.

 

Parents’ evening

As you are aware Mrs Eyres will be leaving at the end of the term to begin her maternity leave. We would like to fit in a Parent’s evening before she leaves! This will be held on Thursday 15th March – for both classes. Please fill in the attached form with your time of preference and we will accommodate on a first come, first served basis.

 

Severe Allergy Reminder

Just a gentle but very important reminder not to send any nut-related products into school – thankyou for your continued cooperation.

 

World Book Day Tokens

All pupils received their token for a free book this week.

 

Cross Country

Unfortunately this event had to be cancelled and no new date has been arranged as yet. However it is hoped that the Llanfair Caereinion event will go ahead next Thursday 15th March, after school.

 

Swimming gala

The WASPS swimming gala will be held on Wednesday 14th March at The Flash, Welshpool. They will need a packed lunch, a snack and drinks.

 

PTFA Easter Bingo

The PTFA have arranged an Easter Bingo to be held in the village hall on Thursday 22nd March at 6.30pm. Any donations of Easter eggs would be most grateful and can be left in the school office, thankyou.

 

Dates for the diary:

Wed 14th Mar – WASPS Swimming gala

Thu 15th Mar – Year 6 pupils BBC News theme day at Llanfyllin High School

Cross Country event at Llanfair Caereinion after school

Parents’ evening

Wed 21st Mar – School Eisteddfod – 2pm

Thu 22nd Mar – PTFA Easter Bingo

Fri 23rd Mar - Break up for Easter holidays – own clothes day

Mon 9th Apr – PD day

Tue 10th Apr – Back to school

Fri 27th Apr – Hockey Festival at Llanfyllin High School/Own clothes day

Wed 2nd May – National Tests begin

Mon 7th May – Bank Holiday

Wed 9th May – National Tests end

Fri 11th May – Tennis at Llanfyllin High School

Thu 17th May – Menter Maldwyn Jambori at Theatr Hafren, Newtown (Years 4, 5 & 6)

Fri 25th May – Break up for half term/Own clothes day

Mon 4th Jun – Back to school

Wed 6th Jun – Sports day (morning or afternoon to be confirmed nearer the time)

Thu 14th Jun – Area Sports at Llanfyllin High School (Years 4, 5 & 6)

Fri 29th Jun – Cricket at Llangedwyn (Years 4, 5 & 6)

Own clothes day

Wed 4th Jul – Transition (Year 6 to high school)

Thu 5th Jul – Transition (Year 6 to high school)

Fri 13th Jul – Year 6 evening out with teachers!

Thu 19th Jul – End of year ceremony – 2pm

Fri 20th Jul – Break up for Summer/Own clothes day